Successful Re-election of Kurt Okraku and New Faces Emerge in Ghana Football Association (GFA) Leadership

img 0414

The Ghana Football Association recently conducted a fruitful election in Tamale, re-electing Kurt Okraku and new faces of GFA leadership

This Extraordinary Congress, held in the Northern Region, saw the re-election of Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku as the President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA). The election, solidified Simeon-Okraku’s position as the head of the nation’s football governing body for the next four years.

In an uncontested race, the incumbent president demonstrated his widespread support by securing an impressive 117 votes out of 119, paving the way for his second consecutive term in office. The resounding victory reflects the confidence and trust placed in Simeon-Okraku’s leadership by the football community in Ghana.

Alongside the presidential re-election, a new seven-member Executive Council was ushered into power. Notable figures such as former Black Stars manager James Kwasi Appiah, former GFA spokesperson Randy Abbey, and former president of Berekum Chelsea, Nana Oduro Sarfo, emerged as key members of the council. These fresh faces bring diverse experiences and perspectives, promising an exciting era for Ghanaian football.

The Division One League (DOL) representatives on the Executive Council were also subject to the electoral process, resulting in a surprising outcome. Samuel Addo Anim, owner of Division One side Young Apostles and a former Exco member, failed to retain his position. This unexpected development underscores the dynamic nature of the elections and the potential for shifts in the football landscape.

The newly-elected Ghana Football Association administration, led by President Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku, is poised to guide the nation’s football affairs for the next four years, with their term set to expire in 2027. The blend of re-elected and new members on the Executive Council sets the stage for a period of growth, innovation, and continued excellence in Ghanaian football.

List of Elected Ghana Football Association (GFA) Officials

Full list if winners below

GFA President

Kurt Edwin Simeon-Okraku – GFA President polled 117 of 120 votes. 1 abstained and two voted NO.

Executive Council Representatives – Ghana Premier


Frederick Acheampong

Nana Oduro Sarfo

Dr Ransford Abbey

James Kwesi Appiah

Kingsley Osei Bonsu

Women’s Football Representative;

Dr. Gifty Afia Oware-Mensah


Division One League Representatives on the Executive Council;

Mark Addo

Gideon Fosu

Eugene Nobel Ampon Noel

Check These on Ghana Trends

Leave a Comment

About Us logo

Ghana Trends is an online portal for the hottest entertainment & trending News in Ghana

Featured Stories


About Us

Ghana Trends is an online portal for the hottest entertainment & trending News in Ghana

Featured Stories